Foundation Exploratory Project – Graphics Typography

Below are images from the project for the Graphic Design rotation, in which we had to create our own typeface.

 

typog page 1 final.jpg
Research into Typography and knitting experimentation.

From the beginning of this project I tried to focus on ways to create a typeface made out of real materials instead of using the computer.

 

 

typog-page-2-final
Experimenting with embroidery and textiles.

 

After experimentation I decided to create my own textile for the typeface, using PVA and tissue paper. The idea was that this would create plastic-like and transparent material, so that light could create colourful shadows when shone through it.

 

alphabet
My first outcome, created with PVA glue and tissue paper. I then embroidered the textile to add a 3D element and more texture.

 

shadow-alphabet-2
My second outcome containing images of the shadows created by the first outcome. Although the impact of the shadows was not quite as intended, I felt this outcome had a soft and feminine aesthetic.  

 

 

 

Leave a comment